The Part Time Crunch

The crunch starts here. A little place for a partly crunchy mom to post some nonsense as well as making some sense.

Insanity!

on November 5, 2012

So, here’s something I didn’t tell you guys: My husband and I ordered that Insanity Workout that you’ve probably heard about.

We recieved our package Saturday and later in the day I was looking through it, the meal plans and calender..all that.  Our reason for buying: we’re both out of shape, and not as healthy as we should be.  My husband himself is a good 100 pounds or so overweight.  I found out I’m about 40 or so overweight just Saturday evening when I weighed myself. My husband is 24 (25 soon!) and I’m 22.

We decided one night while watching late-night infomercials (yes, how exciting for a married couple).  The Insanity commercial came on and my husband suddenly was interested.  We’d been talking for a while about joining a gym and whatnot, but haven’t done it.  I haven’t seen my husband take an interest in Insanity before until he watched the video on it.  He flat out said, “Its Marine Corps. boot camp without the yelling and abuse.” My husband is a former Marine (or is a Marine, since they say once a Marine, always a Marine).

After a week or so of discussion, we ordered it.  My husband is eager to start, but I told him let’s eat up the food in the house before we go start buying more food that will end up not getting eaten.  His younger brother and two of our friends want to join us as well. So, group effort! Collectively, we decided to start on November 12th…a week before Thanksgiving. Smart. Haha.

I worked Sunday to make a meal plan for the first week so I could start a shopping list.  My husband isn’t going to be thrilled, but its going to involve a lot of fish.  Because of my own health problems, I will be substituting a lot of the red meat for other meats like chicken. My husband just doesn’t like fish, but he’ll deal. 😉  It also involves a loooot of whole grains, something else he isn’t a fan of.  Its going to be fun getting him to eat a few of these things, but eventually he’ll get used to it.

Insanity’s meal plan is how you’re supposed to eat. Five small meals a day that meet your caloritic intake requirements (my husband and I need to eat 700 and 500 calories per meal, respectively).  The meal plan in the book is great, the majority of the meals sound like they’re delicious, too.  There is also a ‘Food Ladder’ you can use to make your own meals, too. It highslight the two tiers you WANT to eat from, plus the three you want to avoid as much as possible.

Now, here’s the kicker: I might be pregnant.  We’ve been trying for another baby for a while.  I’d feel bad that I couldn’t do this with my husband because I was pregnant, but at the same time I’d be so happy that I finally got pregnant.

Stay tuned for a pregnancy result and the beginning of a weight loss journey. 🙂

4 responses to “Insanity!

  1. southernsahm says:

    I can’t wait to see how you guys like it and the results you see. I’m not brave enough to try something like that. Hell, I still haven’t played Zumba. I “played” the tutorials once. And I’ve gained 2 pounds since last week. We think I’m pregnant too so I guess we’ll see. It would so ruin my weight loss plan but I can’t say I’d be mad about being pregnant.

    Keep us posted on your results!

    • Better pee on a stick! My period is a little over a week late so, dunno for us!

      • southernsahm says:

        I did about a week ago, was neg. Granted, that was one of those ancient tests from the dollar store where you pee in a cup, get the dropper and drop 3 drops of pee on the test. Lol. I haven’t had a period since August. Either that 24-case of Pepsi I drank in late August/September has had some kind of affect on me (the caffeine) (since I had been drinking only water) or that ancient, cheapo test didn’t pick up the hCG. It took a while for me to get a positive when I was pregnant with Brandon and I could only get one on the ClearBlue tests.

  2. @southernsahm

    I heard dollar store tests are actually REALLY accurate, but I guess it depends on the person? I haven’t gotten a positive yet either so we’re waiting it out now.

Leave a Reply

